+91 9635636580
 +91 9354476280



The cardinal values are the ancient values of Yama and Niyama developed by Tantric over the ages and expressed first by Mahavira Jain and later by Maharishi Patanjali.

Yama has five parts – (i) ahiḿsá, (ii) satya, (iii) asteya, iv) Brahmacarya, v) aparigraha.

  1. Ahiḿsá: Not to inflict pain or hurt on anybody by thought, word or action, is Ahiḿsá.
  2. Satya: The benevolent use of mind and words is Satya.
  3. Asteya: To renounce the desire to acquire or retain the wealth of others is Asteya. Asteya means “ non-stealing.”
  4. Brahmacarya: To keep the mind always absorbed in Brahma is Brahmacarya.
  5. Aparigraha: To renounce everything excepting the necessities for the maintenance of the body is known as Aparigraha.

Niyama has five parts – (i) shaoca, (ii) santośa, (iii) tapah, (iv) svádhyáya, (v) Iishvara prańidhána.

  1. Shaoca is of two kinds – purity of the body and of the mind. The methods for mental purity are kindliness towards all creatures, charity, working for the welfare of others and being dutiful.
  2. Santośa Contentment with things received unasked-for is santośa. It is essential to try to be cheerful always.
  3. Tapah: To undergo physical hardship to attain the objective is known as Tapah. Upavása (fasting), serving the guru (preceptor), serving father and mother, and the four types of yajiṋa, namely, pitr yajiṋa, nr yajiṋa, bhúta yajiṋa and adhyátma yajiṋa (service to ancestors, to humanity, to lower beings and to Consciousness), are the other limbs of tapah. For students, study is the main tapah.
  4. Svádhyáya: The study, with proper understanding, of scriptures and philosophical books is svádhyáya. The philosophical books and scriptures of Ananda Marga are Ánanda Sútram and Subháśita Saḿgraha (all parts), respectively. Svádhyáya is also done by attending dharmacakra (group meditation) regularly and having satsauṋga (spiritual company), but this kind of svádhyáya is intended only for those who are not capable of studying in the above manner.
  5. Iishvara prańidhána: This is to have firm faith in Iishvara (the Cosmic Controller) in pleasure and pain, prosperity and adversity, and to think of oneself as the instrument, and not the wielder of the instrument, in all the affairs of life.

  6. 15 Shiilas

    1. Forgiveness.
    2. Magnanimity of mind.
    3. Perpetual restraint on behaviour and temper.
    4. Readiness to sacrifice everything of individual life for Ideology.
    5. All-round self-restraint.
    6. Sweet and smiling behaviour.
    7. Moral courage.
    8. Setting an example by individual conduct before asking anybody to do the same.
    9. Keeping aloof from criticizing others, condemning others, mudslinging and all sorts of groupism.
    10. Strict adherence to the principles of Yama and Niyama.
    11. Due to carelessness, if any mistake has been committed unknowingly or unconsciously, one must admit it immediately and ask for punishment.
    12. Even while dealing with a person of inimical nature, one must keep oneself free from hatred, anger and vanity.
    13. Keeping oneself aloof from talkativeness.
    14. Obedience to the structural code of discipline.
    15. Sense of responsibility.